The list of winners from the 74th edition of the DGA Awards as “The Power of the Dog” takes top honors

Everyone knows that the Directors Guilds Awards pave the way to the Oscars. The 2022 DGA Awards took place at the Beverly Hilton yesterday and we have the list of winners.

I remember the backlash that Benedict Cumberbatch suffered a few days ago because of his character. Do you remember Power of the Dog by Sam Elliott? Well, the hard work of the crew speaks verses.

Jane Champion’s The Power of the Dog received the highest honor at yesterday’s DGA. The film was rewarded with the “Theatrical Feature Film Prize Award”, the highest distinction. However, other nominees like West Side Story, Dune, Licorice Pizza couldn’t make it.

About the Directors Guild Awards

This year’s prestigious DGA Awards were the 74th annual event where artists from a variety of industries were honored for their marvelous work. The awards established biometrics for the Oscars as the mainstream gospel dictates.

The first “Honorary Lifetime Member” of the Directors Guild Awards was bestowed upon DWGriffith in 1938. He was an American director and one of the most influential figures in film history.

Highest Honor

the Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Achievement by Motion Picture Directors is the highest honor in the competitive categories. FYI, The Color Purple director Steven Spielberg is the most awarded and nominated director for said category. in the history of the DGA.

Now Jane Champion has won the top honor for the film The Power of the Dog in which Benedict Cumberbatch played the role of Phil, who struggles with his sexuality at a time when homosexuality is still taboo. The Western psychological drama that portrays Phil’s toxic masculinity is picture of the year.

Full list of winners

Here is the full list of winners of this year’s Directors Guild Awards:

Best Theatrical Feature Award (Highest Honor)

Nominated: Paul Thomas Anderson “Licorice Pizza”, (MGM) Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast” (Focus Features), Steven Spielberg “West Side Story” (20th Century Studios), Jane Campion “The Power of the Dog” (Netflix), Denis Villeneuve, “Dune” (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Winner: Jeanne Campion “The Power of the Dog” (Netflix)

Documentary feature film

Nominees: Jessica Kingdon “Ascension” (MTV Documentary Films), Stanley Nelson “Attica” (Showtime), Raoul Peck “Exterminate All the Brutes” (HBO), Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson “Summer of Soul” (Searchlight), Elizabeth Chai Varsarhelyi & Jimmy Chin “The Rescue” (Searchlight)

Winner: Stanley Nelson “Attica” (Showtime)

First Time Feature Director

Nominees: Maggie Gyllenhaal “The Lost Girl” (Netflix), Rebecca Room
“Passing” (Netflix), Tatiana Huezo “Prayers for the Stolen” (Netflix), Lin-Manuel Miranda
“Tick Tick Boom” (Netflix), Michael Sarnoski “Pig” (Neon), Emma Seligman “Shiva Baby” (Utopia)

Winner: Maggie Gyllenhaal “The Lost Girl” (Netflix)

drama series

Nominated: Kevin Bray “Succession”, “Retired Janitors of Idaho” (HBO), Mark Mylod “Succession”, “All the Bells Say” (HBO), Andrij Parekh “Succession”, “What it takes” (HBO), Robert Pulcini and Shari Springer Berman “Succession”, “Lion in the meadow” (HBO), Lorena Scafaria “Succession”, “Too much anniversary” ( HBO)

Winner: Marc Mylod “Succession”, “All the Bells Say” (HBO),

TV movies and limited series

Nominees: Barry Jenkins “The Underground Railroad” (HBO), Barry Levinson
“Dopesick”, “First Bottle” (Hulu), Hiro Murai “Station Eleven”, “Wheel of Fire” (HBO Max), Danny Strong “Dopesick”, “The People vs. Purdue Pharma” (Hulu), Craig Zobel
“Easttown Pond” (HBO)

Winner: Barry Jenkins “The Underground Railroad” (HBO)

Comedy series

Nominees: Lucia Aniello “Hacks”, “There’s No Line” (HBO), MJ Delaney
“Ted Lasso”, “No Wedding and a Funeral” (Apple TV+), Erica Dunton “Ted Lasso”, “Rainbow” (Apple TV+), Sam Jones “Ted Lasso”, “Beard After Hours” (Apple TV+), Mike Blanc “The White Lotus”, “Mysterious Apes” (HBO Max)

Winner: Lucie Aniello “Hacks”, “There’s No Line” (HBO)

Variety/news/sports (specials)

Nominees: Ian Berger “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” presents Jordan Klepper Fingers the Pulse — Into the Magaverse” (Comedy Central), Bo Burnham “Bo Burnham: Inside” (Netflix), Paul Dugdale “Adele: One Night Only” ( SCS), Stan Lathan “Dave Chappelle: The Closer” (Netflix), Glenn P. Weiss “The 43rd Annual Kennedy Center Honors” (CBS)

Winner: Paul Dugdale “Adele: One Night Only” (CBS)

Variety Talk/News/Sports (regular programming)

Nominated: Paul G. Casey “Real Time With Bill Maher”, “Episode 1935: Fareed Zakaria, Chris Christie, Eric Adams” (HBO), Jim Hoskinson “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert”, “Episode 1105” (CBS), Don Roy King “Saturday Night Live”, “Keegan Michael-Key”; Olivia Rodrigo” (NBC), David Paul Meyer, “The Daily Show With Trevor Noah”, “Episode 26112” (Comedy Central), Paul Pennolino and Christopher Werner “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”, “Episode 830-Season Finale” (HBO)

Winner: Don Roy King “Saturday Night Live”, “Keegan Michael-Key; Olivia Rodrigo” (NBC),

Children’s programs

Nominated: James Bobin “The Mysterious Benedict Society”, “A Bunch of Smart Orphans” (Disney+), Michael Lembeck “The J Team” (Paramount+), Phill Lewis “Head of the Class”, “Three More Years” (HBO Max ), Smrithi Mundhra “Through Our Eyes”, “Shelter” (HBO Max), Jeff Wadlow “Are You Afraid of the Dark”, “The Tale of the Darkhouse” (Nickelodeon)

Winner: Smrithi Mundhra “Through Our Eyes”, “Shelter” (HBO Max)

reality programs

Nominees: Joseph Guidry “Full Bloom”, “Final Floral Face-Off” (HBO Max), Patrick McManus
“American Ninja Warrior”, “1304: Qualifiers 4” (NBC), Ramy Romany, “Making the Cut”, “Brand Statement” (Amazon), Ben Simms “Running Wild With Bear Grylls”, “Gina Carano in the Dolomites” (National Geographic), Adam Vetri “Getaway Driver”, “Electric Shock” (Discovery)

Winner: Adam Vetri “Getaway Driver”, “Electric Shock” (Discovery)


Nominees: Anthem by Steve Ayson (MJZ), Mattress Company – Droga5, Kathryn Bigelow
(Smuggler), Hollywood In Your Pocket, iPhone 13 – Media Arts Lab, Ian Pons Jewell
(Reset), ECG, Apple Watch – Apple, Henry-Alex Rubin (Smuggler), Teenage Dream, Sandy Hook Promise – BBDO – New York, Bradford Young (Serial Pictures x Somesuch) Super. Human., Channel 4 Paralympics – 4Creative

Winner: Bradford Young (Serial Images x Somesuch) Great. Human., Channel 4 Paralympics – 4Creative

The 74th DGA Awards were hosted by Judd Apatow. It has previously hosted the 70th and 77th Directors Guild Awards. This year’s awards saw immense talent under one roof. What do you think of the winners? What do you think of Jane Champion taking home the highest honor for The Power of the Dogs?

Comments are closed.